How-To, Uncategorized

How to Cover the Back of Your Embroidery Hoop

img_4734I recently sold a piece on Etsy and I needed a clean way to cover the back stitches. I’ve experimented in the past with different ways to do this and decided to share the best way with ya’ll!

Here’s how to do it.

Materials:

Paper (cardstock)

Glue stick

Finished work and embroidery hoop

Printer (optional)

Instructions:

Figure out how big your hoop is, either by measuring or by looking on the hoop itself for a number.

pic-3

If you are measuring your hoop, use the inside hoop and measure from the outside of the wood.

pic-2

Now depending on what equipment you have you can either draw out the circle by tracing it, create it in Illustrator/Photoshop/InDesign or use a few of the standard templates I’ve provided (download at the bottom).

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-11-07-52-pm

I prefer to use a heavy paper but copy paper works just fine. In the top picture, I recycled and used a brown paper grocery bag (I really like how that one turned out). Cut out your circle.

*Bonus Tip: If you use a brown paper bag, iron it first so it will lay flat. 

Now it is time to decorate the back if you want. Stamp your logo, write a sweet note, or leave it blank (I added my logo to the back when I made my template in Illustrator). I have also provided you with a few templates as well (download at the bottom). 

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-11-11-52-pm

Now flip your work over and position the circle where you want it. Use a glue stick to glue it to the back of the fabric.

pic-4

Now put the work back into the hoop, pulling it tight as you go.

img_5294-2

Tighten hoop and cut off excess fabric.

img_5297-2

If you want the work to be permanent, you can glue the fabric around the edges of the hoop. 

And that’s it! Simple huh? 

Download-Button

 

end-signature

Standard

Leave a Reply

